Faraday’s Board comprises the Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Underwriting Officer and the Chief Financial Officer, ensuring that there is a strong connection between the Board and the business activities of Faraday. Each non-executive director has a broad range of experience relevant to the (re)insurance sector and its contemporaneous regulatory framework.

Meet the Board of Directors

  • Andrew was appointed Chief Executive Officer in September 2017 having joined Faraday as Chief Financial Officer in 2014. Prior to joining Faraday, Andrew was Finance Director of Starr Managing Agents Ltd which he joined as Chief Actuary in 2010. He has previously held roles in Newline and Watson Wyatt.

  • Chris joined Faraday (formerly DP Mann) in 1985 on leaving University. He has been an Underwriter of Casualty business since 1992. Chris was Manager of the Specialist Lines team from 2003 to 2012 and was appointed Head of Casualty underwriting in 2013. He became joint Chief Underwriting Officer and was formally appointed to the Board of Directors in September 2017.

    Tom joined Faraday (formerly DP Mann) in 1997 having worked at Synd 219. He has been an underwriter of property treaty business since 1998. Whilst at Faraday he has also written D&F property and aviation retro. He was appointed Head of International Property Treaty in 2013. He became joint Chief Underwriting Officer and was formally appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2017.

  • Kevin was appointed Finance Director in October 2017. He joined Faraday in 2005 and became Head of Finance in April 2017

Meet the Non Executive Directors

  • Ian was appointed to the board in July 2012 and became Chairman in August 2016; he is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee. He was Chief Executive Officer at the NFU Mutual Insurance Society from 2002 to 2008. Ian is currently a non-executive Director at the Coventry Building Society.

  • Martin was appointed to the board in May 2015; he took over the role of Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee in July 2016. He is also a non-executive director for Standard Life plc where he is chair of the Risk & Capital Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee. He was appointed as a non-executive director to the board of eSure Group PLC in August 2015.  Martin has 30 years' experience in the Financial Services/Insurance sector as a strategy and risk consultant, and actuary. From 1983 to 2013 Martin was employed by Towers Watson where he became Managing Director for Risk Consulting and Software for the EMEA region.

  • Terry joined the Faraday board as an independent non-executive Director in January 2018 after over 20 years with Aon where, amongst other matters, he ran the global group specialising in major transactions for clients. Prior to this he was General Manager for American Re. He is Senior Warden of the Worshipful Company of Insurers.

  • Steve Michael was CEO of Faraday between December 2016 and October 2017 and is now group non-executive Director. Steve has been employed by the Berkshire Group since 2000 and is currently CEO of Berkshire Hathaway International Insurance Ltd.