The Board of Directors

Faraday’s Board comprises the Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Underwriting Officer and the Chief Financial Officer, ensuring that there is a strong connection between the Board and the business activities of Faraday. Each non-executive director has a broad range of experience relevant to the (re)insurance sector and its contemporaneous regulatory framework.

Tom Shelley
Chief Executive Officer

Tom was appointed Chief Executive Officer with effect from 1 May 2019. He joined Faraday (formerly DP Mann) in 1997 having worked at Syndicate 219. He has been an underwriter of Property Treaty business since 1998. Whilst at Faraday he has also written D&F Property and Aviation retro. He was appointed Head of International Property Treaty in 2013. He was appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2017 as joint Chief Underwriting Officer before taking on the role of CEO.

Chris Thorne
Chief Underwriting Officer

Chris became Faraday's Chief Underwriting Officer and Active Underwriter on 1 May 2019 having held that position jointly since September 2017 when he was appointed to the Board of Directors. He joined Faraday (formerly DP Mann) in 1985 on leaving University. He has been an Underwriter of Casualty business since 1992. Chris was Manager of the Specialist Lines team from 2003 to 2012 and was appointed Head of Casualty underwriting in 2013.

Kevin Harker
Finance Director

Kevin was appointed Finance Director in October 2017. He joined Faraday in 2005 and became Head of Finance in April 2017.

Martin Pike
Chairman and member of the Audit & Risk Committee

Martin joined Faraday as an independent non-executive director in May 2015. He was appointed Chairman of the board and the Nomination and Remuneration Committee in July 2018. He was Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee from July 2016 to June 2018 and has remained a member of this Committee. Martin is also a non-executive director for Abrdn PLC where he is chair of the Risk & Capital Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee. He served as a non-executive director to the board of eSure Group PLC from August 2015 to December 2018. Martin has over 30 years' experience in the Financial Services/Insurance sector as a strategy and risk consultant, and actuary. From 1983 to 2013 Martin was employed by Towers Watson where he became Managing Director for Risk Consulting and Software for the EMEA region.

Terry Masters
Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee

Terry Masters was appointed to the Faraday board as an independent non-executive director in January 2018, he is Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee and Faraday's Senior independent non-executive director. Prior to joining Faraday Terry spent over 20 years with Aon where, amongst other matters, he ran the global group specialising in major transactions for clients. Before that time he was General Manager for American Re and Aetna. He is Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Insurers. Terry is also an independent non-executive director for UK Berkshire Hathaway companies involved in run-off business.

Andrew D'Arcy
Non-Executive Director

Andrew is Head of International Property & Casualty for the Gen Re Group which includes Faraday. He is a non-executive director of Faraday Underwriting Limited having relinquished the role of Chief Executive Officer of Faraday on 1 May 2019. Andrew joined Faraday as Chief Financial Officer in 2014. Prior to joining Faraday, Andrew was Finance Director of Starr Managing Agents Ltd which he joined as Chief Actuary in 2010. He has previously held roles in Newline and Watson Wyatt.

Steve Michael
Non-Executive Director

Steve Michael was CEO of Faraday between December 2016 and October 2017 and is now group non-executive director. Steve has been employed by the Berkshire Group since 2000.