Management Team

Our management team brings together recognised experts in each of the disciplines required to support and develop underwriting organisations. Our management team is dedicated to delivering superior service to our clients.

Tom Shelley
Chief Executive Officer

Tom was appointed Chief Executive Officer with effect from 1 May 2019. He joined Faraday (formerly DP Mann) in 1997 having worked at Syndicate 219. He has been an underwriter of Property Treaty business since 1998. Whilst at Faraday he has also written D&F Property and Aviation retro. He was appointed Head of International Property Treaty in 2013. He was appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2017 as joint Chief Underwriting Officer before taking on the role of CEO.

Paul Blight
Chief Underwriting Officer

Paul was appointed Chief Underwriting Officer in November 2023. He has a near forty year reinsurance background and transferred from within the wider Group having been International Casualty Treaty CUO for Gen Re for two years.  Prior to that Paul was the Worldwide Treaty Divisional Head for Chaucer Syndicates having originally established their International Casualty Treaty team in 2008.  For the previous fifteen years he underwrote and eventually managed the Casualty Treaty portfolio for a number of companies that eventually became Canopius Syndicate in 2004.

Kevin Harker
Chief Financial Officer

Kevin is the Chief Financial Officer for Faraday and was appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2017 having held various roles within the Finance function.

Jason Bond
Chief Operating Officer

Jason joined Faraday in 2003 and was appointed COO in 2015 and is responsible for Faraday's IT and Operations. Jason first joined as reinsurance administration and credit control manager, and then moved to Head of Operations in 2010. Jason has worked in the Insurance sector for 30 years and is a Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute and a Certified Fellow of the Institute of Risk Management.

Michael Hosking
Chief Risk Officer

Michael joined Faraday in 2016 as the Chief Risk Officer. Michael's team is responsible for the Own Risk and Solvency Assessment (ORSA) process, with specific focus on risk strategy, appetite and internal model use, as well as ensuring Faraday's compliance with all relevant regulatory requirements. Prior to joining Faraday, Michael was Head of Risk at Marketform Managing Agency and has held previous roles at Catlin Group Ltd and Legal & General.

Gerry Lynch
Head of Claims

Gerry joined Faraday in 2003 and was appointed Head of Claims in April 2024.  During his time at Faraday Gerry worked in various positions which included acting as the claims manager for the Corporate Liability Team, Specialist Lines Team and Financial Lines Team.  Prior to Faraday Gerry worked in New York as a lawyer for Mendes & Mount and Bruckmann & Victory.  He is licensed to practice law in New York and New Jersey.

Liz Richardson
Company Secretary

Liz became Company Secretary for Faraday Underwriting Limited in 1996 having joined the Finance team in 1994. She is now Company Secretary for all the Faraday related legal entities. Liz qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young before working at other accountancy practices, including her own small business, and then moved into commerce.